THE STORY OF MY BREAST LUMP (VII)

Post available in English and Romanian
A doua operatie la san

As fi sperat ca dupa prima operatie la san sa ma opresc aici, din nefericire nu a fost asa. Ma bucur insa ca si a doua oara a fost vorba tot de un nodul benign. Cat am fost in spital si am vazut in jurul meu multa tristete si diagnostice infricosatoare, operatia mea a parut doar un hop mic fata de alte lucruri mai grave.

Am descoperit al doilea nodul la san la unul dintre controalele regulate. A inceput sa se formeze la 4 luni dupa prima operatie. Dupa ce m-am sfatuit cu medicul meu am decis sa il urmarim in urmatoarele 3 luni, ca sa vedem cum evolueaza. A crescut relativ repede; la urmatorul control avea deja 1 centimetru. Pe ecografie totul arata bine, o a doua operatie nu era o urgenta, asa cum s-a intampat prima data, cand diagnosticul nu era unul atat de sigur.

Am decis insa sa il operez acum, cat nu au aparut complicatii, dar si pentru ca incizia sa fie cat mai mica. A doua operatie a fost mult mai usoara (a avut loc la 9 luni de la prima), poate si pentru ca deja stiam la ce sa ma astept. Interventia si recuperarea au fost mult mai simple decat prima data, cand totul a fost intr-un stadiu mult mai avansat. Desi aspectul nodului era benign, tot am avut ceva emotii, pana in clipa in care am auzit rezultatele. Nu stiu de ce, dar creierul meu refuza sa nu proceseze si varianta scenariului negativ. Celebrul “ce se intampla daca” m-a tot urmarit.

Experienta mea nu a fost diferita, procedurile de internare, cele dinaintea operatiei si dupa au fost fix la fel. Am reactionat la fel de bine si la anestezie, am descoperit ca reusesc mare parte din ce se intampla dupa ce ma trezesc (aparent e un fenomen rar, care i-a surprins pe doctori). Pacientele cu care am interactionat au fost la fel de prietenoase si de curajoase. Va recomand ca daca vreodata ajungeti intr-un spital, indiferent din ce motiv, sa fiti cat mai prietenoase si mai vorbarete (desi uneori e ultimul lucru pe care il doriti), o vorba buna si un zambet ajuta. Atat pe cel care le ofera, cat si pe cel caruia ii sunt adresate. Timpul trece mai repede cand ai cu cine schimba o vorba.

Acum sunt bine, astept urmatoarele controale si sper sa nu ma mai confrunt vreodata cu o situatie de acest fel, desi nu se stie niciodata. Pentru fibroadenoame, pentru ca asta am avut, nu exista o explicate clara, nimeni nu stie de ce apar, desi cel mai probabil cauza pare sa fie una hormonala. O data aparute nu exista tratament, doar monitorizare si operatie, la recomandarea doctorului. Ca sa ma protejez de fibroadenoame sau de alte probleme am facut cateva schimbari in stilul de viata, dar si in alimentatie. Nu e vorba de ceva extrem, pentru ca nu sunt adepta unor schimbari bruste, dar despre asta intr-o postare viitoare. Pana atunci, va urez multa sanatate si daca mai aveti intrebari  ma gasiti mereu aici. Cel mai important lucru pe care imi doresc sa il retineti este ca un control anual la sani este extrem de important, poate fi diferenta intre viata si moarte, asa ca nu il ignorati!

My second breast surgery

I would have hoped that my first breast surgery will also be the last. It wasn’t like this. But still, I’m glad that the second time it was also a benign lump. While I was in the hospital, I saw around me all the sadness and scary diagnostics, and I can say my surgery was just a small challenge.

I discovered the second lump during one of the routine check-ups. It started to form only 4 months after my first surgery. After I talked to my doctor, we decided the best thing was to do a follow-up after 3 months and see how it evolves. It grew relatively fast; at my next checkup, it already was 1 cm in size. It had a benign aspect, surgery was not an emergency, like the first time, when the diagnose was not so clear.

We decided to have surgery early, to prevent any future complications, and for aesthetic reasons: a smaller incision. The second surgery was easier (9 months after the first one), maybe because I knew what to expect. The surgery and the recovery were easier than the first time when all was in a more advanced stage. Even if the lump looked benign, I was still nervous until the moment I got the results. I don’t know why, but my brain refused to stop thinking about a negative scenario. “What if” was my constant thought.

My experience was not different from the first, the hospitalization procedures and the ones after and before surgery were the same. I also reacted well again to the general anesthesia, I discovered that I can remember almost everything that happens right after I wake up (apparently it’s a rare phenomenon that surprised the doctors). The patients that I interacted with were very friendly this time and brave also. If you are ever in a hospital, no matter the reason, be as friendly and as talkative as possible (even if sometimes is the last thing you want), a nice word and a smile always help the giver and the receiver. Time passes quickly when you have someone to talk to.

Now I’m well, waiting for my next checkups, and I hope never to return there again, even if you never know what’s next. For fibroadenomas, because it’s what I had, there is no clear explanation, nobody knows why they shop up, but most probably, it’s a hormonal imbalance. Once they form, there is no treatment, other than follow ups or surgery, depending on the doctor’s advice. To try and remain fibroadenoma-free, I made some changes in my lifestyle and food. It’s not something drastic, I don’t approve of extreme changes, but I’ll write about this soon. Until then, I wish you health and if you have any questions, I’ll always be here. The most important thing that I want you to learn and remember from my story is that an annual breast exam is very important, it can mean the difference between life and death, so do not ignore it!

10 thoughts on “THE STORY OF MY BREAST LUMP (VII)

  1. You are so right about having someone to talk to. My first ever visit to hospital, as a patient, was in 2014 and I really appreciated the ward, with five companions, which I was in for the few days I was there. The second occasion, in a different hospital, the following January, I was alone in my room. Very nice you might think but I much preferred the first, having fellow patients around me. However, not only was I lucky enough there to have a Romanian doctor and nurse (this is in the UK) but, thanks to internet I had a group of Romanian teachers ‘supporting’ me; they turned what could have been a trying time into an hilarious episode. If you’d like to read about it here’s the link:
    http://wp.me/pkm0h-Ki

    Like

    1. I always think that laughter is the best medicine, and you were so lucky to not have any serious health problems. I hate the fact that I had my first surgery at 32, looking around it looks like the younger generation has many health issues, and it’s worrying. Also, the Romanian nurse from Cluj has the same name as me 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Buna Adriana. Yes, I’ve been very lucky. In the UK I put the younger generation’s health problems, mental and physical, to being given too little freedom because of ‘health & safety’ concerns, being fed pesticide/fungicide contaminated food and not being allowed to play freely ‘afara’ to develop immunities, and tremendous peer pressures to have all the latest gizmos. Unfortunately such things are slowly but surely taking over life in Romanian cities, but it is still possible to escape them in the countryside, which is one thing contributing to Romanian children being among the happiest in the world while British children are among the unhappiest (NSPCC survey last year). Ai grija. Roger Dimitrie. x

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are right. I appreciate the fact that I can still go to the countryside where I used to spend my summers as a child. Unfortunately, work is so busy sometimes and we barely have time for ourselves these days. As for the younger generation it’s a pity that they are so distracted by technology and gadgets. Best wishes from Romania 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

