THE STORY OF MY BREAST LUMP (III)

Post available in English and Romanian

Internarea

Doua saptamani mai tarziu, dupa multe griji, scenarii si nopti nedormite, a venit in sfarist si ziua internarii. Am adus cu mine tot ce doctorul meu a inclus pe o lista (depinde de la caz la caz).

Desigur, sa nu uitam de bagajul pentru spital. Urma sa stau o zi inainte de operatie, in ziua operatiei pentu ca ziua urmatare sa fiu externata. Eu am adus:

  • 2 pijamale de schimb (cu nasturi in fata) 
  • lenjerie intima pentru 3 zile 
  • ciorapi pentru 3 zile 
  • papuci (va ajuta sa fie de cauciuc ca sa nu intrati desculte in dus)
  • pasta de dinti si periuta 
  • sapun 
  • ceva de prins parul (eu l-am prins in coada)
  • carti, pix, telefon si incarcator, casti, orice ca sa imi ocup timpul cat mai mult
  • servetele umede si hartie igienica 
  • crema de fata 
  • prosop 
  • apa 
  • optional o cana si tacamuri (eu in prima zi am mancat la cantina spitalului, a doua zi dupa operatie doar un covrig si o felie de pizza iar a treia zi am mancat acasa)  

De cum am ajuns (8:30), am fost preluata de asistenta doctorului meu, care a inceput procedurile pentru internare. A urmat un sir lung de intrebari despre starea de sanatate, alergii, alte boli sau operatii. Apoi analize de sange (nu mancati in dimineata internarii) si inca o ecografie pentru marcarea exacta a locului in care se afla nodulul (investigatiile in functe de medic si de diagnosticul fiecaruia).

Medicul meu a discutat cu mine si cu sotul meu. Ne-a raspuns rabdatoare la toate intrebarile si ne-a explicat EXACT ce va urma sa se intample, inainte, in timpul si dupa operatie.

Trebuie sa stiti ca si insotitorul va da cu subsemnatul pentru interventie. Regulile spitalului. Poate fi o ruda sau pur si simplu iubitul. Si voi veti semna multe foi. Va dati acordul pentru internare, operatie, anestezie, explicati exact ce vreti sa stiti despre diagnostic (daca vreti sa stiti sau nu) si cine altcineva din familie mai afla (sau nu) aceste detalii. Apoi am ajuns in salonul unde urma sa imi petrec urmatoarele zile. Trebuie sa stiti ca exista saloane cu cate trei paturi si grup sanitar la comun cu salonul alaturat, unde sunt tot trei paturi. Grupurile sanitare sunt …decente, ma rezum la atat. Daca aveti noroc, exista si salon de doua paturi cu baie privata. Unele saloane au si frigidere (puteti folosi un frigider din alt salon daca nu aveti chiar in camera), tv nu am vazut, mie mi-a tinut companie radioul de pe net.

In saloane si in grupurile sanitare e curat fata de alte spitale si contrar asteptarilor mele (da, stiu ca nu e bine sa iti faci o idee fara sa stii exact, dar cu totii stim cu e in spital in Romania) toata lumea s-a purtat extrem de bine, de la internare pana la externare.

Am avut doua colege de camera senzationale, ne-am incurajat si am stat de vorba pana noaptea tarziu, desi erau mult mai in varsta decat mine. Am socializat si cu colegele din alte camere. Spuneau despre noi ca suntem cele mai prietenoase si ne vizitau. Asa a fost prima zi in spital.

Restul povestii:

The Hospitalization

Two weeks and many worries later, after sleepless nights, the first day of hospitalization came. I brought everything my doctor asked (depends on each case).

Don’t forget the luggage. I stayed in the hospital a day before surgery, the day of the surgery and I was discharged the next day. I brought:

  • 2 pairs of pajamas (buttoned in front)
  • underwear for 3 days
  • socks for 3 days
  • slippers (the rubber kind, I won’t shower barefoot)
  • toothpaste and toothbrush
  • soap
  • a hairband (I kept my hair in a ponytail)
  • books, pen, phone and charger, headphones, anything to keep me busy
  • wet towels and hygienic paper
  • face cream
  • towel
  • water
  • if you want, a mug and cutlery (during my first day I ate at the hospital’s canteen, after surgery I ate a pretzel and a slice of pizza and in my third day I ate home)

As soon as I arrived (8:30), my doctor’s nurse took care of the hospitalization papers, then I answered many questions about my health in general, allergies, other illnesses or surgeries. Blood tests followed (do not eat in the morning of hospitalization) and another breast ultrasound to mark the spot of the lump (the medical investigations differ for every patient and diagnose).

My doctor discussed with my husband and me. She patiently answered all of our questions and explained EXACTLY what will happen before, during and after surgery.

Whoever comes with you will also sign papers consenting to the surgery. Hospital rules. It can be a relative or your boyfriend. You will also sign many papers. You must agree for hospitalization, surgery, anesthesia, and you must explain clearly what you want to know about the diagnosis (if you want to know or not) and who else in your family will be informed (or not). After all this, I was assigned a room to spend the next days in. There are rooms with 3 beds and a common toilet with the joined room, where you’ll also find 3 beds. The bathrooms are … decent. I’ll leave it at that. If you’re lucky there are also rooms with 2 beds and a private bath. Some rooms have a fridge (you can use a fridge in another room if you don’t have one), I didn’t see a TV, the internet radio kept me company.

The rooms and toilets are clean if you compare it to other hospitals (yes, it’s not right to form an opinion ahead of time, but we all know how the hospitals look in Romania) everyone was nice from the day of the admittance until the discharge day came.

My two roommates were very nice, we supported each other and talked until late in the night, even if they were older than me. We also talked to the other patients. They said about us that we are the friendliest and kept visiting. This was the first day in the hospital.

The rest of the story:

8 thoughts on “THE STORY OF MY BREAST LUMP (III)

  1. First, apologies for responding in English; I read your posts in Romanian but writing it is still too much of a struggle. I do hope your ‘lump’ is found to be benign, but even if not I’m sure it has been ‘caught’ in time. Your posts will be of tremendous comfort to those in a similar situation. The hospital you are in sounds great for Romania; I think you have the best doctors in the world and my experience in a Romanian A&E last year was similar – wonderful supportive, caring staff though the facilities were not so good. We in the UK have benefitted and a superb Romanian doctor and nurse were there to care for me the most recent time I was interned here in England but I’m sorry that this is a loss for so many Romanians because of the emigration of so many of your medical staff. My similar experience in the UK more than two years ago did not result in such a good diagnosis but our great NHS together with my Romanian wife’s typical Romanian complimentary medicine mean that I’m still around and enjoying life. Our thoughts and prayers are with you.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thank you for reading my blog and my story, and when you’re ready, please answer in Romanian if you want. I hope my blog makes for good practice 🙂
      Returning to the subject, fortunately, my lump (or lumps, but I’ll write about this in a future post) turned out to be benign. But I’m not off the hook yet, I constantly follow up with ultrasounds and regular checkups because of increased risks.
      Indeed, looking at the Romanian health system, we do have wonderful and talented doctors and nurses; unfortunately, the low wages and lack of personnel sometimes turns them into frustrated professionals and the patients also suffer because of this. I was fortunate enough to meet some amazing people, and I still dream of a “healthy” medical system that can provide for both doctors and patients. I can’t say I’m happy that Romanian doctors and nurses are seeking refuge in other countries, but I take pride in the fact that they help other people and improve a bit the bad reputation of my country. Now I am also relying on complementary medicine besides classic medical treatment to try and prevent any other lumps from forming. Good health for you and your wife also!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

